Kitchen Gadgets

I am a total dork.  I often narrate my adventures in house-making in my head.  Or have conversations, as though I am interviewing myself on some swanky TV show.

For example, today after my morning session I got home and was starving.  I wanted to make a smoothie, and I wanted to make a big enough batch that I could send some smoothie back to work with Hubs after lunch.  So I took out coconut flakes, frozen bananas, frozen triple berry mix (THANKS MOM!), yogurt, 3 big leaves of Kale (THANK YOU KITCHEN GARDEN), and some water… and I could BARELY put the lid on the blender.

I thought to myself Mindy, this is folly… There’s no way you will blend this.  

But I wanted the smoothie so I tried… and failed.  And smelled blender engine smell… I suspect a new blender will be purchased soonish. 😦

But I had all the stuff together, what was a girl to do?!?

Then I had a moment of inspired genius…. THE FOOD PROCESSOR… my oh so beloved food processor… My kitchen gadget I couldn’t wouldn’t want to live without….  I took her out, and spatula-ed all the smoothie ingredients over, and turned the food processor on to level 2…. 

Worked like a dream!!!   I have two fabulously thick and delicious smoothies… Mine’s almost done and Hubs is chillin in the fridge. 🙂

As I was marveling at my resourcefullness and declaring undying love for my food processor, I started interviewing myself…

At first I was thinking of a list of kitchen gadgets I could not live without… but as I thought about it…. I realized there are ones that I really could do without but they make things more convient versus which ones I truly would be up a creek without…

Here’s my list.

Convenient but could do without:

  • Blender
  • Egg slicer
  • Toaster oven
  • Waffle Iron
  • Omelet Pan
  • Crockpot
  • Rice Cooker
  • Bread Machine

Necessary!:

  • Kitchenaid Stand Mixer
  • Food processor
  • Dishwasher (Okay, it’s not a true kitchen tool, but with massaging, my hands require a dishwasher!)
  • Knives, cutting boards, etc.

What are your gadgets?

One thought on “Kitchen Gadgets

  1. Gotta have the crockpot. It was one of those, who needs it kind of appliances until I had a baby and realized you could throw in anything and have a yummy hot meal. Plus almost every meat that comes out of it shreds and that makes one very happy husband 🙂

Leave a Reply

