2 Bite Brownies

2 Bite Brownie Glory

I remember when I was still back home in Vermont and Hannaford’s used to have these cute little “2 Bite Brownies”.  They were perfect to just satisfy your little craving, or to make a small brownie sundae with. 🙂

Times have changed… I don’t shop at Hannaford’s anymore (We’re Kroger people through and through)… And over the years I  have stopped eating so much sugar and have become really aware of how what I eat makes me feel after, so I find I don’t enjoy brownies as I used to.

Last week we had on the menu to have white beans (cannellini)  with pasta and pasta sauce.  So I soaked a bunch of them up and cooked them on low in the crock pot (My favorite way to make dried beans!).  I always make extra and then freeze the extras so I have beans on hand.

Well, I kinda eyeballed more than we needed… Even when you take into account freezing some… So I was at a loss as to what to do with  all these beans!!!   Until I remembered people using black beans to make brownies.  I figured the white beans are pretty similar to black beans and I could just try to make some and if they failed I could keep it all to myself, and if they succeeded, I could share them with the world!

Let’s just say, the are abso-freakin-lutely awesome.  Hubs didn’t really believe they had beans at first.  They are super yummy, without being too sweet.  We’ve been having them in the morning before we take our walks or go running or work-out… and they don’t make me crash.  That’s always the problem for me with sweets… If they are too sweet with out enough protein and fiber, I feel like crud after eating them.  But not these babies!!

I made these last week… and they are still so good… We’ve kept them in the refrigerator and decided they are officially a household staple.  They are so good that I even baked another batch of them today… In my un-airconditioned 84* IN THE KITCHEN house…  That’s how good they are!!

If you can't stand the heat...

I made them, both times, in my mini-muffin pans which make them into the perfect 2 bite size!  The first go round, I ended up with 24 brownies… and about 1/4 cup of “batter” left over.  It would make a great dessert dip since it’s eggless and all.  Today I baked all of the batter and ended up with 34 brownies.

2 Bite Brownies

Ingredients:

3/4 C Whole Wheat Flour (I think oat flour would work wonderful and would make this gluten free)

1/3 C Cocoa Powder

1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Baking Soda

1/2 C Brown Sugar

1 1/4 C cooked White Beans

3/4 C Pumpkin (canned or mashed… I think applesauce would work, really any mashed fruit, mashed ripe bananas would as well I bet!)

1/4 C Yogurt

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Process/Method:

Preheat oven to 375*.  Grease your muffin pan (I misto-ed mine).

Puree white beans.  I did so in a food processor the first time and felt that the beans were a little chunkier than I would prefer, so I this time I pureed them in batches in my mini-chopper and added a couple tablespoons of water each time.  I was MUCH happier with the consistancy.

Combine all ingredients and mix well.  I use my KitchenAid stand mixer, but it’d be easy to do this with a spoon and elbow grease!

Bake for 10-12 minutes… Or until toothpick comes out clean.

Allow to cool, remove from muffin pan, and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

