Wicked…Good…Salmon Burgers!

I absolutely, and totally, woke up on the wrong side of the bed… and late no-less.

Hubs and I have this really bad habit of slipping into the whole snoozebar routine…  We hit the snooze, snuggle each other close… Repeat about 3 cycles.  Our house is wicked close to our neighbors…  I’m sure this is their favorite part of being our neighbor.

And, I’m very cranky.  I cried over my poached egg’s yolk breaking when I took it out of the water… which is almost the same as crying over spilled milk right? 🙂

To top it off, this is the hands down worst week I’ve had since quitting my job and starting to really focus in on my business.  I’ve literally had just about every client except one today cancel on me.  I hate putting that out there, I hate admitting how scared that makes me.  But I hate living under the umbrella of fear.  We are so lucky that we stocked a bunch of money away before I left the bank in hopes of moving home (not happening in the foreseeable future thanks to me quitting!)…  This month it might actually come in handy.  I’m trying to keep optimistic, but it’s hard.  And I feel like I’m running out of marketing ideas…  It’s not always easy, but I knew that when I went into this.

When I start getting cranky like this I tend to forget how lucky I am that my refrigerator even has eggs in the first place…  Nice organic ones no less.  There are people right here in this valley that do not have that luxury.  That’s usually enough to snap me out of my bad moods (even ones like today’s that are sponsored by Hormones!).  Or not everyone has a partner in life that is willing to pull them up and remind them that businesses are cyclical, so it’s going to be better and swing back.  To try to keep me from being discouraged, and to be okay with having to touch our savings if need be.  So there you have it…  I’m spending all day being appreciative of what I have.

Know what else I am appreciating today???  Leftovers from last night!!!

Dinner was so.freakin.good.

What with having my clients cancel, and then having originally planned to go out for a walking date last night… I had dinner already to roll when the Handsome One walked in the door.  The walking date was cancelled, so we got a good start on the evening!   And I was able savor our meal.

When my mother was here in April she brought with her 6 cans of Wild Alaskan Pink Salmon from Costco (PLEASE COME TO ROANOKE THANK YOU)… She and I had one can while she was here, and Hubs and I have been enjoying the remaining cans since.  My preferred (read quick and easy) way to use the salmon is to throw it on a salad with my knock-off Good Seasons Italian dressing…  So good.   And the animals love when we have the canned salmon because they love salmon and tuna waters!

Last night I wanted to do something a little different with the canned salmon, so I made salmon burgers/patties… using my waffle maker… yup… my waffle maker…   It’s also my quesadilla maker, grilled cheese maker… My unsung hero of small kitchen appliances.  In fact, I used it twice yesterday!  I’ve got that baseline one that just has waffle plates you can flip to have a flat “griddle plate”.

To round our diner out I made The World’s Best Rice Salad (recipe soon!) and when Hubs came home he took point on the grill and we grilled up some yellow squash we had kickin around the fridge… 🙂  I love summer and grilling and eating dinner outside!
Untitled

Yah… Wicked good sums that up nice.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Salmon Burgers Serves 4

Ingredients

1 can drained salmon in water.

1/4 cup breadcrumbs + 2 tbsp o n a plate for coating the formed patties. I used Italian because that’s what we’re working through in the pantry

1 scallion – green part only.  I use kitchen shears to just cut it into small little slices.

2 eggs

1/4 of a small pepper – I used an orange one

5-7 leaves of basil – fresh.  Right off my container on the deck!  I also snipped this with the kitchen shears.

2 sun-dried tomatoes.  Again sniped with the shears.

1/4 tsp garlic salt (or more if you prefer)

1/2 tsp Italian Seasonings

Fresh ground pepper to taste

Process/Method

Prep your cooking source… Waffle maker, cast iron pan, broiler…

Combine all ingredients in a big bowl, except for the 2 tbsp of breadcrumbs… Put those crumbs on a plate.

Get your hands into your bowl of ingredients and really squish everything together.

Form 4 patties, coat each patty in the breadcrumbs on the plate to keep them from sticking together.

Place on your waffle iron (Mine states not to oil it, but I Misto-ed it anyway).  Close the waffle iron and walk away for a good 12-15 minutes, or until they are cooked through and have a lovely golden crust.

We enjoyed these on 100% whole wheat (gosh after years of being gluten free writing that makes me giddy!) with a basil yogurt sauce.  I’ll share that recipe below incase you want to try that as well… It’s not much of a recipe but simple and awesome.  It was so tasty Hubs literally licked the bowl.

Mindy Notes: 

For a cooking source I used a waffle iron…I used the griddle plates to be able to keep the burgers together w/o flipping them because I always seem to make them fall apart because I flip too soon!  I think you could use a frying pan or broiler or grill, but I prefer the waffle iron for an even golden crust on top and bottom.

With regards to the sun-dried tomatoes… We buy these guys in bulk because we fell in love with them in Italy and I use them all the time.  It’s crazy pricey to get them at the grocers.   We got three bags and freeze the ones we’re not using.  I keep an old salsa jar on the counter filled with thawed ones, and replenish as needed.

As I was re-reading this, I was thinking this could be made gluten free by using cornmeal in place of the breadcrumbs.

Also, flax eggs could be used in place of real ones if you have an egg sensitivity… or ran out of eggs!

Basil Yogurt Sauce Serves 4

Ingredients

1/2 cup plain whole fat yogurt

5-7 leaves of basil – snipped into strips

1/4 tsp garlic salt

Process/Method

Combine, and use as you would use any other condiment (we used this instead of mayo).

___________________________________________________________________________________________

We had so much food that we have leftover squash and one burger each, which means my lunch salad will be grrrrrreat today!

Since I vacuumed only part the house yesterday, so today I have the pleasure of cleaning the rest of the house!!

And after I go into work this afternoon I get to pick up the CO2 for our kegerator… because the keg came in!!!  That means we’ll have cheap light beer on tap at the Grange household this weekend!  Come one, come all. 🙂

Happy Friday!

2 thoughts on “Wicked…Good…Salmon Burgers!

  1. Pingback: To Break a Cycle… « Finding Time to Breathe…

Leave a Reply

