Trixy, Trixy, Trixy….

If I ever was to go undercover with LL and Chris O’Donnell (Outta my way Kenzi!!), I would want to go by either my backyard-wrestling persona, Scarlet Feva (but the bright red hair and bright green cat suit might distract from the mission) or by Trixy…  Because it’s tricky, but with a kick!

Alas, this evening I did not embark on a super secret government mission… but I did pull the wool (temporarily) over the Hubs’ eyes…

Ever since the break-up earlier this week, I’ve been researching and diving headfirst into dairy free options like a madwoman… Hubs, if this is any indication I strongly suggest that you, for the sake of mankind, do not break up with me.  Freedom apparently leads to me pursuing all possible avenues.  The world would never be the same.

Tonight (it must have been kismet) I was just reading up on something random on Dr. Oz’s website and I ran into a recipe for chocolate pudding… Dairy free.  Raw even.

It called for cocoa… well I have that in the cupboard…
It called for water… well heck, in this day and age… what with running water, I just so happen to have a facet that water comes out of right.in.the.kitchen…
It called for dates…. Check!!  I have them guys too!!!
And now… for the best part of all… It called for half an avocado… I HAD HALF AN AVOCADO IN THE FRIDGE….Not a whole one… literally, a left over half an avocado…  That cinched it… I had to make it.  And of course I had to add my patented Mindy flair to it. 🙂

And then, talk about more perfect timing…. Just as I’m pouring… well actually… scraping it… into ramekins I hear Hubs run up the basement steps… I dash to cover the avocado shell and pit….  Just in time!!

Smiling (probably way too big and far to deviously) I turn to him and offer him the dessert delight…

He eats it…. Yum… Really chocolaty….

He walks away to check the fire in the living room…  I sneakily uncover the avocado evidence…

He comes back… Looks at the avocado shell and says “There’s avocado in this??”… (For the record, he also asked why… Like I did something to punish the poor little avocado….  Like becoming such a thick delicious dessert was a waste of an avocado… the nerve!)

I could even trick my mother with this concoction!! Well… Had I not felt compelled to share this dairy free greatness with the world… I could have.

Avocado Chocolate Pudding
Dairy free, nut free, gluten free…You’re welcome. 🙂


1/2 an avocado
4 tbsp cocoa powder
1/8-1/4 cup water (use as much or as little as you need for your desired consistency)
5 dates
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp maple syrup (I am sure other sweeteners would work as well)

Blend it all up in your food processor, and serve.

I used our mini-chopper and the dates did not incorporate as well as I would prefer.  It’s thick and rich and sooooooo good!!  Enjoy!!!

How’s that for some quality????

Leave a Reply

