Who needs meat???!!???

It finally has been cold enough in the house to have to turn on the heat…  The internal temperature swooped below 59 degrees F, so on went the oil-sucker furnace.
Theron has employed other options to keep warm as you can see…

Maybe it was due to the cold… All I know is that I wanted some heat to eat…. I was really really craving tacos… but I am kinda overdone (haha, accidental pun) with the meat thing.  Usually I have meat once a week, but the past couple weeks it’s been about daily.

So last night for dinner I improvised… And came up with a meatless option.

We had black bean tacos.  And they were rockstar good.

Which I mostly attribute to the taco sauce I made from scratch.  It was drinkablygood.  Seriously!

I prepped the taco sauce about a half hour before we started the taco process.
Hubs took a bag of black beans out of the freezer to thaw.

Then we took glasses of wine (Thanks for the leftovers Moms!) and sat out taking in the last bits of warm rays for the day.

Then we warmed up our corn tortillas in the oven.
And cut up our toppings… Black beans, black olives, avocado, tomatoes, cilantro, and cheese for the Hubs (I’m giving all dairy a rest for a bit, my stomach seems to hate it).

We compiled the tacos and doused them with the taco sauce…. TACOHEAVEN!!!

Sometimes we like to finish up the leftover toppings with little salads, which we did last night… But my motive wasn’t true… I just wanted more taco sauce!!!

Taco Sauce Recipe:
8 ounce can of tomato sauce
1/3 cup water
1/4 tsp chili powder
1 1/2 tsp cumin
1 1/2 tsp minced onion
1 tbsp white vinegar
1/2 tsp cider vinegar
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp garlic salt
1/4 tsp paprika
1 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp ancho chili powder (Cayenne would probably work as well)
4 drops Tabasco Smokey Chipolte flavor
1/2 tsp dried oregano

Whisk, let sit for flavors to meld…. Drink Enjoy!!
_______________________________________________________________________________
Saturday was pretty dominated by the usual trip to Kroger with my mom… and then watching the Hokies barely beat Duke… With an at home tailgate!!!

Pay no attention to the mess behind me… Litter boxes are cool photo accessories… πŸ™‚

As are bins of kitty litter.

Mom left us yesterday morning at the ungodly hour of 6 am.  I think she’s excited to return to the snowbelt.  πŸ™‚  We had a nice long visit.  But now I’m back to reality!!!  Time to get going on marketing my massage practice, and focusing on my mind/body health.

In light of that… I’m off to workout!  πŸ™‚  Let’s hope I stay brave and actually try Jillian’s 30 Days of Hell 30 Day Shred.

Leave a Reply

