Saturday Morning and I’m Feelin Fine!!!!

I really have to say that I rocked this morning… 

Up with the sun around 6:20am, and I let myself doze for a bit until the alarm (okay the alarm after hitting the snooze button once) went off at 7:08am.

Hubs has another summer cold… but I am so far okay… So I hopped up, grabbed some h2o, and rolled out my mat for Yoga and Pilates time.

I seriously love this part of my day.  It’s a great way to slowly wake my muscles up and prepare them for the day.  I think it’s been one of the keys to keeping my Achilles acting right!!

Then I let El Pumpercito (AKA Theron) outside, while I gathered my mp3 player, filled my water bottle, glided, and got ready to head down to the treadtorture mill.

I impressed myself with logging a quality 62 minutes down there.  I’m doing 5 minutes of running, 2 minutes of walking…. I will admit, building up slowly has been a godsend for my Achilles… another reason I think they are loving me back lately…

I went upstairs to put the Keurig on, so i could have some island coconut with coconut milk on ice… and decided I should have sick Hubs hydrate.  Imagine my surprise when I go upstairs to bring him his water and he’s up nasal irrigating (I SWEAR by nasal irrigation… 1/4 tsp salt, 1 cup of hot-as-you-can-handle water… dissolve the water, then snort that stuff up a nostril, and force it back out snot-rocket style, repeat on other nostril… repeat until the cup is empty.).  I gave him his water and his cold medicine… and he told me I looked seeeeeexy in my sweaty glory and athletic (dripping) clothing.  That’s when you know you married the right person!!

He came downstairs and started on our lunch (actually, it was supposed to be our breakfast, but time got away with us), while I stretched.  This is the 3rd factor of Achilles happiness… stretching them like it’s my job… 

I finished up and he was done the first phase of our lunch, so it was shower time.  (This will make more sense if you look at step 1 of the recipe below πŸ™‚ )

I love love love the new haircut…  I’ve been able to let the hair air dry today!!!  And it doesn’t look shabby!

Hubs threw together the rest of lunch, and we had some yogurt with hemp, my new favorite non-homemade granola, coconut flakes and almond slices.  Yum!!  And another iced coffee… this one was dark and delicious!!

Right now, we’re chillin out for a bit, and eating lunch…. 

Sweet Potato Tortilla Pie

Look at that beautiful bean footage. πŸ™‚

Then it’s off to walk to the library, and then to Mojo/Mr. Bills Block Partay.

Happy Happy Happy Saturday to one and to all. πŸ™‚

Sweet Potato Tortilla Pie – Gluten Free baby!
1 lb sweet potatoes
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp cumin
1 tbsp olive oil
7 corn tortillas
1.5 cups skim milk
3 large eggs
1/4 cup chopped red onion
1 tsp S&P
3 tbsp cilantro
3 oz cheddar cheese
1 cup cooked black beans
1 tsp Tabasco (chipolte flavor)

1) Preheat oven to 400.  Toss sweet potatoes with garlic, cumin and olive oil.  Bake in oven for 20 minutes, stirring once.  Cool.
2) Spray (with spray oil) a pie plate.  Layer the tortillas to cover base and sides of pie plate.
3) Preheat oven to 375.  In a bowl, beat together milk, eggs, onion, cilantro and S&P.  In a separate bowl, combine black beans and Tabasco.
4) Put potatoes on top of tortillas, then sprinkle cheese over the potatoes, and egg mixture over cheesed potatoes.  Cover with black bean mixture.
5) Bake for 50 minutes, or until custard is set.  You may need to tent with aluminum foil if tortillas start to overly brown.

Serves 8.

Calories: 222
Carbs: 29 g
Fat: 7 g
Protein: 12 g
Fiber: 5 g

Leave a Reply

