The Great Blueberry Pancake Show-down!!!



We’ve had a pint of blueberries in the fridge just waiting for the perfect opportunity to become pancake fodder.  Well, today was it’s lucky day!  We generally use Pamela’s Baking and Pancake Mix and I was certain we had some in the pantry… but alas, I couldn’t put my hands on it this morning.  I decided to try to use the GF Bisquick we had in there.  Just as I resigned to this, Hubs found the Pamela’s!!!  (MY HERO!)  I had a flash of inspiration… I would do a pancake-off!  See which mix is the best.  They both provided recipes on their sides that were almost identical.  To level it out I used almond milk for both, instead of water for one and milk for the other. 

The Pamela’s looked healthier, probably due to the flecks of almond meal in it.  They both started with the same consistency, but the Bisquick gelled up with waiting it’s turn on the griddle.  I had to add a 1/3 of a cup of water to make the consistency usable.

As you can see, they don’t LOOK that different.  Some of the Bisquick ones were a little fluffier, before I added the water, but they took FOREVER to cook through completely and are kind of cake-like. 
We did a side by side taste comparison.  We both agree that we heart Pamela’s!!!!  There is a nice warm, slightly sweet, real pancake taste to it.  The Bisquick had some odd undertone to it’s taste we couldn’t quite figure out how to describe.  I thought it was a little like plastic… Hubs rancid flour…  It was an aftertaste issue for him. 
PAMELA’S BAKING AND PANCAKE MIX WINS!!!
Theron was envious, so we had to hook him up with a blueberry and a blueberry treat. 🙂


Time to get some yard work done!!!  Wish us luck… we’re taking on the forest….

Leave a Reply

