You say I’m crunchy… Well, I did make granola….

My home was so nice this morning I didn’t want to leave!! 
Look at that clean table… nary a pile to be seen!

Look at the depressed Pup with his Monday guilt face on…

Poor Puppies need Mommy time!!

Look at that inviting front yard… just begging for a leisurely pot of coffee to be partaken on it! 

Look at these poor little trees that my husband pulled from the ground with his own two hands yesterday!!  Okay, they’re not inviting, but he sure did look bad-ass when he did it!!!

Okay, onto the more interesting part… The GRANOLA!!

I hear an awful lot how I’m “crunchy”… okay well they call me a little hippie and I modify it to being crunchy.  Like granola. And granola is just what I made tonight!!!

We’ve been having plain yogurt in our lunches.  Which I like, it’s low fat, got some good protein…but… it’s… well… plain…

Hubs asked what I wanted to have in it…  I looked up this recipe for granola a few weeks ago.  I chose it because we had almost all the ingredients already in house… He just needed to snag some hulled sunflower seeds. 

It was actually a lot easier than I expected it to be!  It almost seems savory on it’s own, but then we threw it in some Oikos Vanilla Greek Yogurt, with a little shredded coconut… WOWWWEEE!!

Crunchy GF Granola
24 -1/4 cup servings

2 cups GF rolled oats
1 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup shelled sunflower seeds
1/4 cup ground flax
2 tsp sea salt
2 tbsp toasted sesame seeds
1/2 cup honey
2 tbsp cooking oil
1 cup dried fruit (I used the remainder of a box of currants in the pantry)

Pre-heat oven to 300F.  Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.

In a large bowl combine oats through sesame seeds on list above. 

In separate bowl, combine honey and oil.

Pour honey oil into oat mixture, mix well with hands until dry ingredients are saturated.

Pour out onto cookie sheets.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, stirring after 15 minutes.

Remove from oven, stir in fruit.

Carefully remove parchment paper from cookie sheet, making sure to cradle granola in paper.  Place on counter to cool.

Store in airtight container.

NUTRITION!
Calories: 105
Fat: 5.3 g
Cholesterol : 0
Sodium: 196 mg
Carbs: 13.1 g
Fiber: 2.2 g
Sugar: 6.4 g
Protein:  2.7 g

So simple, so good!  It got the Hubs seal of approval.

Today I wore my new breathe shirt!!  Therefore, I get to be the daily cuteness!!!!  MY TURN! 🙂

Please ignore the jacked up hair… In desperate need of a hair cut!!!

Goals will be updated shortly on the goals tab!  Check ’em out!!!

This morning was a biking morning.  Thank goodness… I sure did need a break from the running.  So I’m off to bed nice and early now, so I can get up and attack the treadmill.  LUCK MY WAY! 🙂

Leave a Reply

