Sunday. Sunday. Sunday… Monday. Monday. Monday…

What a disappointment the first weigh-in for Paula’s Excellent Challenge was!!
As of Friday I was under half a pound from the 2 lbs a week goal.  By Sunday morning, I was back to my starting weight from the previous Sunday.  What gives?!?!
Back to the grind this week.  I got a decent workout in on Sunday am, and got the house almost all clean!!  This morning I brought up the rug vacuum and vacuumed the throw rugs.  And I will finish the vacuuming of the office and kitchen tonight. 
I rearranged my bureaus yesterday as well!!  I moved out the winter clothes (prematurely I do admit, since its 32 degrees and snowing today), and brought in the summer clothes.  This process is so much easier as each season goes by and I weed out more clothes for the Goodwill (Three bags full this weekend!!!).  Hubs was a superstar yesterday as well!!!  I had asked him to paint the “tall places” on the ceiling of the stairwell going down to the basement.  Not only did he do the tall places, he painted all the rest!!!!  It looks super.  The only stuff left to paint is around the side door and the baseboards.  (We had new doors installed in the fall, so there’s some bare wood and dings to clean up).  We also have a little touch up on the wall near the door where the install resulted in having a big chunk of plaster fall off (Imagine my “pleasure” at that surprise).
A big part of what I need to feel mentally and emotionally healthy is to have an organized house.  These are steps towards that!  In fact, of my two weekly goals I have set beyond the 2 pounds, one of them keys into that.
We have stacks of stuff all over the house.  It’s piled and looks organized.  But its clutter and it means we can’t find stuff like we should be able to.  I have insurance cards on one of the buffets in the dining room.  Hubs has a big pile of who-knows-what on his side of the table.  I have a few more piles in different areas, and so doesn’t he.  You know what it looks like to me?  Laziness and disorganization.  Well this week, that’s gonna change!!   We have set a goal to either toss out, or file the piles!!!  We’re going to put things away where they belong, or create a new home for them.  Wish us luck!  I’m so excited. J 
The 2 week menu had us having grilled salmon with a pineapple salsa for dinner.  However, the weather had us digging soup.  Enter Kroger’s Gluten Free Flyer!  A couple weeks ago, Kroger sent out a gluten free informative and coupon filled flyer.  A girl from work brought hers in for me. J  We were both pursuing it, and Hubs mentioned a recipe in it.  It was a Lentil Stew.  Lentils… sweet potatoes… stew… what’s not to love????  And that my friends, is how we ended up having a kick-butt stew last night for dinner.  I also threw two cornbreads together… Why two you ask?  Well the first one didn’t smell like I wanted.  I had googled the recipe.  I won’t share it because the other one, which I will share, knocked our socks off!!!  We had honey-smart balance on the cornbread.  It was the perfect cold weather dinner.  I wish I hadn’t broken the camera, because the cornbread was so pretty and we ate the stew out of our new soup bowls!! 
The serving size of the soup was much smaller than the volume of that pasta we had yesterday.  The difference in satisfaction in the REAL food tonight, versus the “fake” (the cooking crème was a processed food) food was astounding.  I mean, both Hubs and I noticed.
In case you want to re-create our delicious and highly satisfying meal:
Lentil Stew (Based on Kroger’s, with my little tweaks):
2 tbsp olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
2 tsp garlic, minced
4 cups GF chix broth
2 cups water
1 can diced tomatoes (14.5 oz can)
2 medium sweet potatoes, diced
2 cups dried lentils, rinsed and picked through (make sure they are GF, some yellow lentils are not)
2 tsp poultry seasoning
S&P to taste
Add oil to a large soup pot.  Sauté onion for 3-5 minutes until beginning to become translucent.  Add garlic.  Sauté another 1-2 minutes.
Add lentils, stir around about 30-45 seconds.  Add tomatoes and sweet potatoes.  Cover with water and broth.  Cover and simmer about an hour, or until lentils and sweet potatoes reach desired texture.
Add seasonings; simmer an additional 10-15 minutes.  Add water if necessary to result in desired consistency.
Nutrition Info:
1 Cup (For me, the recipe yielded 9 1-cup servings)
Calories: 132
Carbs: 27 g
Fat: 3 g
Protein: 10 g
Fiber: 11 g
Sugar:  6 g
GF Cornbread: 
¾ cup corn meal
1 ¼ cup GF Bisquick
¼ cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 cup milk (I used coconut, no surprise right!?!)
1 egg beaten
¼ cup oil
Preheat oven to 400F.  Spray 8-9 inch round pan.
Combine dry ingredients.  Combine wet ingredients.  Pour wet into dry and stir until well incorporated.
Pour batter into greased pan.
Bake 20-25 minutes, until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean.
Nutrition Info:
1 wedge, if bread is sliced into 8 wedges
Calories: 207
Carbs: 27 g
Fat: 9 g
Protein: 3 g
Fiber: 1 g
Sugar:  3 g
We even forced ourselves to take poor, under-exercised Theron for his evening trot last night!! 
I call that a successful Sunday!!!  (However, I will admit blatant non-success with calling my mom and my sister.  Sorry ladies!!  The cleaning fiend came out and just can not be denied!)
This week’s goals:
The Excellent Challenge – 2 lb weight loss.
Destination Organization – No more piles!!
Sleep Schedule – This one is back on the list.  We did not succeed with this one.  More discussion and research brought us to the point where we recognize it has to be the same time to bed and the same time waking up every day, even the weekends.  We’re going to shoot for a more realistic timeline as well.  Bedtime is 9:30 pm, and wake up is 5:40 am.  This tracks well to what we actually have time to achieve in the evenings.
Monday!!
We got up and had a short workout this morning.  On the upside, I did get a workout in, and got to work on time.  Today was pretty uneventful.  The kind of day where one day felt like 10.  Once we got home, we made dinner. 
Sliced organic tomato.
Corn on the cob.
Baked Tofu, on rice, with BBQ sauce.
Cornbread.
While it was DELICIOUS, it was too much food.  That’s the third dinner I have eaten too much.  Booo, Hisss!!!
I finished the vacuuming while the tofu baked away.  Hubs was in charge of that part of the project anyway!
We took a quick trot, and Hubs went off to b-ball. 
I’ve got dish duty, and then I’m going to do what I always used to do during b-ball nights… Yoga and a bath!!!!
Here’s to hoping for a NICE RESTFUL NIGHT!!  I want to wake up rested!
Leave a Reply

