A Wayward Morn

This morning I waged war with the dreaded snooze button, and lost big time!!  We did not get out of bed until 8:10!  To put this in perspective, I’ll share a quick view into my ideal morning, from wake up to commute. J

Ideal morning…
Wake up with the progressive alarm at 5:00 am…  This means I either wake up with the light function that gets increasingly brighter, or the sound of the waves crashing getting louder… This does not mean getting up with that blaring, jarring BEEP BEEP BEEP noise we all love so much.
A quick snuggle with Hubs and then I pad across the room to where I keep my yoga gear…  I quietly turn on a little reading light, and roll out my map.  I gather my blocks and strap… and then I start out with 2-5 sun salutations, followed by whatever asanas come to me.
Then I wake the sleepy bear in the bed… Time to get up Hubs!!
We troop down to the kitchen to get some water to bring down to the Basement Gym, and the workout commences!
We have a recumbent stationary bike, a home gym, a few workout DVD’s, an exercise ball, a medicine ball, some resistance bands, a treadmill, some free weights, another set of yoga gear and the TV down there.  Usually I’ll do some biking, followed by some weight training, followed by some good stretching!  I am a VERY FIRM believer in stretching.  I feel it keeps my muscles flexible, and able to continue to be used with minimal pain.
Back to this ideal day I am describing… Next I’ll hop in the shower and get all gussied up for work.  While I’m doing the girl thing, my amazing husband compiles our lunch snacks and such, makes our coffee and warms up our breakfast.  I come down stairs, have our breakfast and coffee while chit chatting… In the summer, we eat on the deck when it’s nice!! 
I am packed up and ready to roll by 8:00 AM!!  It’s a 25 minute commute and I want to be at my desk by 8:30.
With all this in mind, you can see how it might be an issue to not even wake up until 8:10 this morning!!!!  By some miracle (and a very loving, selfless husband), I was able to make it in at 9:13. 
And do you know what the culprit of my harried Monday morning was????  Lack of sleep!!!  Oh yes my friends, it is not only toddlers who can benefit from a bed time… It’s also able to benefit us adults!  I find if I get my magic 7.75-8 hours of sleep, I am golden… My mornings are awesome, i feel dynamic, and have the energy with which to start the day off exercising. 
My mood all day can also be tracked by this magic number of sleep hours.  My healthy eating is sooo much easier when I follow that magic sleep number.  Everything seems to be better.
The lesson learned here… I’m going to bed at 9:00 tonight!!! 
This evening I had to play exercise catch-up.  I came home, changed into my workout gear, and headed down to the bike… I rocked out for a half hour; then stretched out… Paying close attention to my Achilles… Achilles Update:  Still painful from time to time, but I have been able to walk and such.  I’m not ready to try it running just yet… Maybe this weekend.
Once that was done, I checked in with Hubs.  Then I started into dinner making…
Mondays are Tofu Nights!!! 
Tonight’s tofu masterpiece is seen below.
Baked tofu, rubbed with cumin, cinnamon, ancho pepper and a little lime.
Romaine lettuce
Litehouse Salsa Ranch Lite
Black Beans
Brown Rice
Chopped Tomato
Baked Tortilla Strips (SOOOO easy… Just get out your pizza cutter, and just cut strips!!  Toss in the oven on broil, make sure you keep a close eye on them so they do not burn, and bake until done to your liking.   You may want to flip them every couple of minutes so they crisp up more universally)
Cheddar Cheese
Delish!!
I rounded out my evening with a walk with hubs and Sir Theron, and then a little Candy Cane Lane before bed.   I’m had been hoping against hope that there would be a few minutes left over before bedtime to read some more of my new book!!  I loved Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, and am enjoying Committed as well so far!  But alas, it was not to be.

Daily Cuteness!!!

Depressed puppy wants a walk…
Wait… Did someone say walk????
About time for my walk!!!!!!!!
One thought on “A Wayward Morn

  1. I find it amazing how stressuful my days are when my ideal morning doesnt happen..maybe we have these chaotic days to appreciate the good ones… XOXO Ill be over around 5:30 for dinner 😉

Leave a Reply

