Rain Rain Rain…

We woke up with RAIN!  Again.  It was steady all morning as the alarm did not go off again (this is two mornings in a row the alarm has not gone off, while still being set and such), and we dozed in and out of sleep and waking.  It was delightful.  🙂

Cinnamon oatmeal with sliced almonds and raisins again.  Tasty again!!!  A cappuccino again…  Today with a Pumpkin Pie Syrup.  It was not very tasty.  It would not be on my repeat list.  Then, we doubled up on breakfast and had some Cinnamon Chex… Which always makes me super happy because… they. are. gluten. free.!!!!  (A note on the oats… we buy Bob’s Red Mill’s Gluten Free Oats… which are very good, and we use them for oatmeal, crumbles, lots of uses!)  Don’t judge!!  They were both small portions!!

I fully intended to follow up on this awesome breakfast with a run on the treadmill, some work with the weights, maybe hop on the stationary bike…  But life had different plans for my day…

Instead I worked on fixing our State Taxes.  We originally thought we’d be able to file with TurboTax for free… oh no though!!  We didn’t meet the criteria that the State of VA set forth.  So then we had to undo that and set it to mail in.  Done!!!  That’ll go out on the mail tomorrow.  All our taxes are done.  Hooray!!!!

Then we printed our 2 week menu and the grocers list.  Hubs is the grocery shopper in this casa.  I am not able to adhere to a budget very well.  The hubs is the saver, hands down.  When he left to hunt and gather for this week… I got down to organizing more!!  I have been on the lookout for a buffet with a hutch… for one reason, and one reason only…  we need a place to store our wedding china.  Yes, that same china that we received in July of 2008…  HOWEVER today I had a huge stroke of genius…  just because the china that didn’t fit into our buffets now looked like a lot in the boxes, maybe i could rearrange enough to get it all in.  Well i organized my tush off and it all fit!!!  No need to get that buffet with hutch now!!   Who’s the saver now!!!???? THIS GIRL!  As you can see, I used every bit of space.  I moved some things into the kitchen.  I even rearranged the dining room a few times to see if there was a different way to have the table, etc.  For the record, there’s not. 😦

Did I stop there???  Oh no… I went into the kitchen and tackled the pantry.  We have a tiny area next to our fridge with shelves.  That is our whole upstairs pantry area.  So I decided one of everything… The rest goes downstairs to the “Costco Corner”… The Costco Corner is really a throwback to my parents house growing up.  That’s the shelves in the basement where all the HUGE Costco sized stuff went.  Anyway, I reorganized the upstairs pantry.  I threw out a lot of old flours that i am sure have gone rancid, cleaned out some containers.  It is so clean and easy to see everything now!!! 

Then it was time for a late lunch.  More vegetable bean soup from yesterday and grilled cheese (with GF bread, but of course!).  Hubs made the grilled cheese; I’ve yet to take on that culinary endeavor.  Then we went down to the Costco Corner.  Hubs got to take on the organization of that area.  Which now looks super great as well.  And that gave me the perfect time to catch up on all things Degree related with my mom on the phone. 🙂

Nothing feels quite the same as avoiding a work out by organizing.  Takes the sting of guilt out of things, a little bit!!!  Finally the guilt kept building and building.  This has been an awesome week for us healthwise.  I have had a calorie deficit of 800+ each day this week from Tuesday on, minus yesterday… Yesterday was 765… Still excellent!!  I kept thinking about that, and thinking about it… and realized I didn’t want to let my laziness stop that trend.

Down to the Basement Gym…  I went on the stationary bike and watched the first episode of The Office…  I forget how awkward that show is!!!  Then I realized I was taking the wimpy way out by just using the bike, and not getting on the treadmill.  My calves loosened up on the bike, and I knew they could handle the jogging.  To a real runner the accomplishments that today marked wouldn’t seem like a lot, but to me, they rocked!!

  • This was the first time, I’m pretty sure, since high school that I ran 3 days in a row.
  • This is the first time since the Achilles situation that I have been able to run for 20 minutes straight. 
  • This is the first time I have been able to run as fast as I did today… (Which is still really really slow, so I won’t post it, but for me, it was great!)

DINNER TIME!!

Tonight was another awesome dinner… We are on a roll lately, and I love it!!!

While preparing dinner, Hubs made us each a decaf cappuccino to stave off the chill of the cold, wet night.  We had the same cappuccino maker for years, and had it down to a science.  Then, it died an untimely death.  After much research for the best product, as well as Hubs-Sav-A-Lot making sure it was the absolutely best price, we purchased a Bodum stove top Espresso maker, and a Bodum frother… Yes…we are Bodum peeps… We also got a Bodum french press for Christmas and that’s where it all started.  This new cappuccino process is phenomenal, it is easy, quick… it seriously takes minutes.  I love it.


One for me, one for you!



Earlier today, while on my binge of organizing the china, I also was roasting some mini-carrots.  Those made their way onto the dinner menu.
It was super easy!  I just threw two large bags of mini-carrots into the roasting pan, added 1/4 cup canola oil, 2 tbsp minced garlic, 1-2 tsp each cinnamon and cumin.  They roasted away for about 40 minutes at 375F… Then I took the top off and broiled them for about 20 minutes, stirring them up every 4-5 minutes.  I liked the cinnamon and cumin combo… It works well for sweet potatoes too.

Hubs picked up a Dole Perfect Harvest Salad kit.  He’s become awesome at reading ingredients for gluten content.  I give him an “A”!  This was great.  It was a lettuce blend with shredded carrots, topped with sliced almonds and dried cranberries, dressed with a cider vinaigrette. 

The piece de resistance was bacon topped scallops, drizzled with maple syrup.  We used some of the last of our Vermont maple syrup… Nothing beats syrup from the homeland. 🙂
The hubs championed the scallop/bacon process… It went something like this:

  • Preheat oven to 350F.
  • Bacon in the new cast iron pan, crisp it up.
  • Add the scallops.  Cook until opaque.
  • The bacon didn’t crisp up as much as we wanted to start, so we stuck that back in all by itself to crisp up.  Set to broil mode!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Plate up the scallops, top with bacon, drizzle with maple syrup. 
  • Embark on a delicious journey of the taste buds!!

We also partook in some excellent Vidal Blanc from Chateau Morrisette.  We are huge fans of Chateau.  It was perfect, fresh and wonderful.



Then Hubs got sucked into Animation Domination, while I have shared the day.  It’s past my bedtime!!  Start the day late, and it seems like you never catch up!  On that note, I’m tired, and ready to snuggle up to the Hubs as the wind howls outside… 

BONUS!!!  Here’s some Smoresy Love to warm your hearts!

2 thoughts on “Rain Rain Rain…

Leave a Reply

