Get him to the Greek!

We ate like Greeks tonight!!!  Well, since the Hubs is a half Greek, it’s not such a far stretch!!

We picked up a Gaea Myconos sauce at Kroger on the closeout area.  It’s a tuna and kalamata, tomato based sauce.  It seemed interesting.  We geared our menu tonight around it.  Hubs, being the inquisitive sort he is, pulled the label away and the first recipe inside it had ingredients we happened to have on hand.  We had some sardines in the pantry.  We bought them because oily fish are supposed to be good for you.  We had never had them and didn’t really know what to do with them.  Hurray for Hub’s inquisitive nature!!!

Tonight’s Menu:
OUZO!!!

It starts out so nice and clear…Then you add some ice, to chill, and water… and it gets cloudy when you water it down to your taste level.

Yumm-o!

Sardines with Gaea Myconos Sauce (with modifications)

Recipe: 
1/2 cup Myconos Sauce
1 tin sardines — Hubs opened them up and removed most of the bones
2 Tbsp EVOO
1 cup spinach
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup chopped red onion
2/3 cup water
S&P

Place EVOO in a skillet, and saute until soft and lightly browned.
Add spinach and wilt down.
Add garlic.
Toss in sauce, reduce heat add water and simmer.
Clean sardines.
In a baking pan (we used a loaf pan!), toss a small amount of the sauce in the bottom, add sardines.  Season with S&P.
Bake at 365F for 7 minutes.
Serve!!!

We served it over brown rice. 

We also made some wilted kale!!! 

2 tbsp EVOO
2 tbsp minced garlic
2 small bunches of kale, spines removed, and rinsed off
S&P

Warm oil in pan.
Wilt the kale down in a large pan. 
Cook to preferred doneness.  We like it a little crispy…
Season with S&P – We used a pizza and pasta salt we love… we call it the original crack salt. šŸ™‚

We also had a few slices of feta on the side.  It was really good.  Salty and creamy.

We feasted like Greek Gods and Goddesses tonight!!! 

Even better, we feasted in front of a roaring fire.  It was very misty/rainy here today, so the fire was just the ticket to stave off the chill of the day. I always think of the moors of England (not that I’ve ever been there, just what I’ve imagined from books). 

This morning, we slept until we woke up, which was a good feeling.  I love actually feeling rested in the morning!
I got up, rolled out my mat, and greeted the day in the yoga way!!! 
Just as I was finishing up, Hubs woke up, and Theron too!

He’s a good man; he offered to take care of inventing and making breakfast while I went down on the treadmill.  I’m still nursing myself back to recovery from an Achilles tendinitis situation.  It started several years ago and has flared up time and time again.  Lately, I am seeing my jogging getting better and better… and can jog longer and longer without pain, or without needing as much rest.  I’m feeling hopeful.

While I fought my way through my jog, Hubs made us cinnamon oats with sliced almonds and raisins… and a kick butt cappuccino.  Awesome!!!

We organized our office a little.  Then traveled down to our basement gym.  We worked out to MacGyver reruns; both of us had good workouts!!! 

Lunch was super good as well. 
Kicked up Amy’s Organic SW Roasted Veg soup and tuna fish sandwiches!
To the soup I added Kroger Hot Chili beans, a veggie mix with green beans, carrots, peas and corn, a can of diced tomatoes and some hot sauce.  Super yummy!! 
Jon started with a can of tuna, added some Greek yogurt (there’s that Greek thing again!!!), some spicy mustard, and some dill.  We toasted up a couple slices each of our GF bread, and loaded it up with the tuna salad, topped with my mom’s awesome relish.  He did a great job.

We got to relax quite a bit… which is actually a challenge for me.  I’ve been go – go – go consistently for so long, I forget how to just kick back and enjoy.  Today was a good practice time!!

As you can see Theron and Smores need no help with the relaxation process!!

Now I’m off to finish my ouzo, before our roaring fire!!!

Leave a Reply

